Certification scheme

Uptime Institute Tier Certification of Operational Sustainability (TCOS)

Assesses how a Tier-certified site is actually run (policies, procedures, behaviours and risks of operations) on a points basis, graded Bronze, Silver or Gold; sites without a Tier certification can use the separate Management and Operations Stamp of Approval.

  • 5requirementsin our own words
  • 0editions none dated yet
  • 0places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
  • 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below

Where it applies

It is voluntary in the 30 places assessed. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.

WhereOutcomeBasisConditionsAuthority and route
All 30 placesAppliesVoluntary In forceNone stated No law in this country requires it; customers, lenders or tenders decide.Not stated

What it asks for

5 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.

RequirementEvidence expectedOwnerWhen
Maintain operating policies and procedures that cover the behaviours and risks of running a Tier site. Procedure set and approvals Policy, checked by document reviewSite manager Continuous Governance, one site
Staff the site with trained, assigned operators and manage the human element. Staffing plan, training records Record, checked by document reviewHR Every year Governance, one site
Plan and perform maintenance and testing that sustains the Tier design intent. Maintenance calendar and test records Record, checked by document reviewM&E lead Continuous Inspection, one site
Manage power, cooling and space capacity so the Tier capability is not eroded. Capacity reports Record, checked by document reviewM&E lead Continuous Governance, one site
Plan recertification before the award expires. Renewal plan Certificate, checked by document reviewCompliance manager Each certification cycle Inspection, one site

Stages, levels and report types

What each one is, how long it is valid, and the claim you may make once you hold it.

Stage or levelReport or awardPeriod and validityWhat you may say
Operational Sustainability, Bronzecertificate (points-based)not statedawards expire; term not statedSay: Tier Certification of Operational Sustainability, Bronze. Applies to operations of a Tier-certified site only.
Operational Sustainability, Silvercertificate (points-based)not statedawards expire; term not statedSay: Silver. Do not compare grades across different sites without the date.
Operational Sustainability, Goldcertificate (points-based)not statedawards expire; term not statedSay: Gold, with the date of the award.

About the programme

Scheme owner
Uptime Institute
Assessed by
The scheme owner
Scope
one operating Tier-certified facility
Levels
Bronze, Silver, Gold
Validity
Awards expire and operators are encouraged to recertify; the term is not stated on the page read.
Time to a first certificate
not published
Accreditation route
none (scheme owner certifies)
Who asks for it
Enterprise and colocation customers, Wholesale and hyperscale customers, Insurer
Where it is used
global

Sources

Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.

No official body publishes a page for this scheme. The scheme owner's own page, linked under About the programme, is where the clauses are published.

Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.