Uptime Institute Tier Certification of Design Documents
Uptime reviews the design drawings and specifications of a planned data centre against its Tier Standard for topology (mechanical, electrical, structural and site) and awards a design-stage rating.
- 5requirementsin our own words
- 0editions none dated yet
- 0places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
- 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below
Where it applies
It is voluntary in the 30 places assessed. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.
| Where | Outcome | Basis | Conditions | Authority and route |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All 30 places | Applies | Voluntary In force | None stated No law in this country requires it; customers, lenders or tenders decide. | Not stated |
What it asks for
5 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.
| Requirement | Evidence expected | Owner | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Declare the target Tier and submit design documents for review. | Submission package with the chosen Tier Drawing, checked by document review | M&E lead | Once Governance, one site |
| Show the electrical topology meets the Tier objective, including maintainability and fault response. | Electrical drawings and one-line diagrams Drawing, checked by document review | M&E lead | Once Technical limit, one site |
| Show the mechanical topology meets the Tier objective. | Mechanical drawings and cooling schematics Drawing, checked by document review | M&E lead | Once Technical limit, one site |
| Show structural and site elements meet the Tier objective and local codes. | Structural and site documents Drawing, checked by document review | M&E lead | Once Technical limit, one site |
| Close the gaps Uptime reports before the award; design certification is a prerequisite for the constructed-facility step. | Gap list and closure evidence Record, checked by document review | M&E lead | Once Inspection, one site |
Stages, levels and report types
What each one is, how long it is valid, and the claim you may make once you hold it.
| Stage or level | Report or award | Period and validity | What you may say |
|---|---|---|---|
| Design documents | certificate (design award) | not applicable (documents)term not stated on page read | Say: the design documents of site X were awarded Tier N by Uptime Institute. Do not say the site is Tier certified. |
About the programme
- Scheme owner
- Uptime Institute
- Assessed by
- The scheme owner
- Scope
- design of one planned facility
- Levels
- Tier I to Tier IV
- Validity
- Validity term not stated on the page read.
- Time to a first certificate
- not published
- Accreditation route
- none: Uptime says its Professional Services is the only entity licensed to rate and certify designs
- Who asks for it
- Enterprise and colocation customers, Wholesale and hyperscale customers, Lenders, Insurer
- Where it is used
- global
Sources
Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.
No official body publishes a page for this scheme. The scheme owner's own page, linked under About the programme, is where the clauses are published.
Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.