ANSI/TIA-942 data centre infrastructure standard and certification
A US-origin but globally used standard for data centre telecom, power, mechanical, architectural, fire and security design, with a TIA-run certification scheme at four rating levels.
- 5requirementsin our own words
- 2editions ANSI/TIA-942-C
- 0places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
- 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below
Where it applies
It is voluntary in the 30 places assessed. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.
| Where | Outcome | Basis | Conditions | Authority and route |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All 30 places | Applies | Voluntary In force | None stated No law in this country requires it; customers, lenders or tenders decide. | Not stated |
What it asks for
5 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.
| Requirement | Evidence expected | Owner | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Choose the certification type (design, constructed facility or ready/modular) and the target rating level. | Scope and rating decision Record, checked by document review | Site manager | Once Governance, one site |
| Meet the standard's site, architectural, electrical, mechanical, safety and security requirements for the chosen rating. | Design package and as-built evidence Drawing, checked by document review | M&E lead | Each certification cycle Technical limit, one site |
| Pass the surveillance audits at the end of year one and year two of a constructed-facility certificate. | Audit reports and corrective action closure Record, checked by document review | Site manager | Every year Inspection, one site |
| Recertify by the end of year three; renew a design certification within one year. | Recertification application and dates Certificate, checked by document review | Compliance manager | Each certification cycle Inspection, one site |
| Use a TIA-licensed certification body. | Contract with the licensed body and its licence listing Contract, checked by document review | Procurement | Once Contractual, the organisation |
Editions
Which text is in force, from when, and which one it replaced.
| Edition | Status | Published | In effect | Replaces |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANSI/TIA-942-C | Current Dates not on the page. | Not stated | Not stated | ANSI/TIA-942-B |
| ANSI/TIA-942-B | Superseded | Not stated | Not stated | None named |
Stages, levels and report types
What each one is, how long it is valid, and the claim you may make once you hold it.
| Stage or level | Report or award | Period and validity | What you may say |
|---|---|---|---|
| Design certification | certificate | not applicable1 year, extendable if the site is not operational | Say: TIA-942 Design Certification at rating N, issued by a TIA-licensed body. |
| Constructed Facility certification | certificate | audit evidence over the cycle3 years with surveillance audits at end of year 1 and 2; recertify by end of year 3 | Say: TIA-942 Constructed Facility certified at rating N until the expiry date shown on TIA's register. |
| Ready certification (pre-manufactured modular) | certificate | not applicable1 year with yearly recertification | Say: TIA-942 Ready for the named module. |
About the programme
- Scheme owner
- Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA)
- Assessed by
- A certification body licensed by the scheme owner
- Scope
- site
- Levels
- Design, Constructed Facility and Ready certifications, each with four classification rating levels
- Certificate cycle
- Certificate valid for 3 years, surveillance every 1 year, recertification every 3 years
- Validity
- Design certification valid 1 year (extendable if not yet operational); Constructed Facility valid 3 years with surveillance audits by end of year 1 and year 2; Ready (modular) valid 1 year with yearly recertification.
- Time to a first certificate
- not published
- Accreditation route
- TIA licenses Certification Bodies that follow ISO/IEC 17020/17021 plus TIA's extra qualifications; TIA lists licensed bodies and certified sites
- Who asks for it
- Enterprise and colocation customers, Wholesale and hyperscale customers, Public tenders
- Where it is used
- global
Sources
Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.
No official body publishes a page for this scheme. The scheme owner's own page, linked under About the programme, is where the clauses are published.
Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.