Law

France: electrical authorisation (habilitation électrique), NF C 18-510 and Code du travail R4544

French rule that only workers formally authorised by their employer may work on or near electrical installations; the employer issues a personal authorisation after training and medical fitness, in line with the NF C 18-510 method.

  • 4requirementsin our own words
  • 1edition NF C 18-510 (January 2012)
  • 1places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
  • 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below

Where it applies

It is a duty in 1 of 30 places. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.

WhereOutcomeBasisConditionsAuthority and route
FranceAppliesRequired by law In forceNone stated National electrical safety rule for workplaces in this country.Labour inspectorate; INRS explains
Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Switzerland, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, United Kingdom, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, SlovakiaDoes not applyRequired by law In forceNone stated National instrument of FR; this country has its own electrical safety rules (not yet in this dataset unless listed).Not stated

What it asks for

4 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.

RequirementEvidence expectedOwnerWhen
Only authorised workers may work on or near electrical installations; the employer issues a personal authorisation. Signed authorisation title per person Record, checked by document reviewEHS Each certification cycle Authorisation, one site
Train the worker and confirm medical fitness before authorising. Training certificate and medical attestation Certificate, checked by document reviewHR Each certification cycle Authorisation, the organisation
Follow the reference safe-working method for the symbol held. Work instructions Policy, checked by document reviewEHS Continuous Governance, one site
Refresh training and review authorisations at a recommended three-year interval. Refresher records Record, checked by document reviewHR Each certification cycle Authorisation, the organisation

Editions

Which text is in force, from when, and which one it replaced.

EditionStatusPublishedIn effectReplaces
NF C 18-510 (January 2012) Current Jan 2012Not stated None named

About the programme

Assessed by
The employer
Scope
worker and task
Levels
voltage domain and operation symbols (B/H, 0/1/2 and letters)
Validity
Validity fixed by the employer; INRS recommends refresher training every three years (see INRS page).
Accreditation route
none: employer signs; training bodies not accredited by statute
Regulator
Labour inspectorate; INRS explains
Who asks for it
Regulator, Insurer, Wholesale and hyperscale customers
Where it is used
FR

Sources

Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.

No official body publishes a page for this scheme. The scheme owner's own page, linked under About the programme, is where the clauses are published.

Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.