LEED green building rating system
A points-based rating of building sustainability (energy, water, materials, site, indoor environment) with prerequisites; data centres are rated through the design-and-construction and operations-and-maintenance systems.
- 3requirementsin our own words
- 3editions LEED v5
- 0places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
- 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below
Where it applies
It is voluntary in the 30 places assessed. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.
| Where | Outcome | Basis | Conditions | Authority and route |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All 30 places | Applies | Voluntary In force | None stated No law in this country requires it; customers, lenders or tenders decide. | Not stated |
What it asks for
3 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.
| Requirement | Evidence expected | Owner | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Choose the rating system and version for the project (v5, v4.1 or v4). | Registration record Record, checked by document review | Compliance manager | Once Governance, one site |
| Meet all prerequisites and earn credits to reach the target level. | Scorecard with documentation Record, checked by document review | M&E lead | Once Governance, one site |
| Submit documentation for verification and review by GBCI. | Review correspondence Certificate, checked by document review | Compliance manager | Once Inspection, one site |
Editions
Which text is in force, from when, and which one it replaced.
| Edition | Status | Published | In effect | Replaces |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LEED v5 | Current | Not stated | Not stated | LEED v4.1 |
| LEED v4.1 | Current | Not stated | Not stated | LEED v4 |
| LEED v4 | Current | Not stated | Not stated | None named |
Stages, levels and report types
What each one is, how long it is valid, and the claim you may make once you hold it.
| Stage or level | Report or award | Period and validity | What you may say |
|---|---|---|---|
| Certified / Silver / Gold / Platinum | rating | not applicablerating issued after GBCI review | Say: LEED vX Gold (project). Rating levels: Certified 40-49, Silver 50-59, Gold 60-79, Platinum 80+ points. |
About the programme
- Assessed by
- The scheme owner
- Scope
- building project
- Levels
- Certified 40-49, Silver 50-59, Gold 60-79, Platinum 80+ points
- Validity
- Rating issued after verification and review by GBCI.
- Accreditation route
- GBCI (Green Business Certification Inc.) reviews projects
- Who asks for it
- Lenders, Wholesale and hyperscale customers, Public tenders
- Where it is used
- global
Sources
Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.
No official body publishes a page for this scheme. The scheme owner's own page, linked under About the programme, is where the clauses are published.
Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.