France: Code de l'énergie L236-1 and decree 2025-1382 (data centres)
French transposition of Energy Efficiency Directive Article 12 and 26: yearly declaration by 15 May, plus a cost-benefit analysis duty where waste heat is not recovered.
- 7requirementsin our own words
- 1edition Décret n° 2025-1382 of 29 Dec 2025
- 1places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
- 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below
Where it applies
It is a duty in 1 of 30 places. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.
| Where | Outcome | Basis | Conditions | Authority and route |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| France | Applies | Required by law In force | From 500 kW (installed IT power) National law for data centres in this country. | Ministry for the energy transition; ADEME Filed with: energy minister; European platform by 15 May |
| Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Switzerland, Cyprus, Czechia, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, United Kingdom, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia | Does not apply | Required by law In force | None stated Law of FR; this country has its own rules (see EED rows). | Not stated |
What it asks for
7 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.
| Requirement | Evidence expected | Owner | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Declare the site to the energy minister: installed power, SIRET number and a named contact; for a new site within two months of commissioning. Applies to: installed IT power of at least 500 kW | Declaration receipt and contact record Record, checked by document review | Compliance manager with Site manager | Once two months after commissioning (new sites) Filing, one site |
| Send administrative, environmental and energy information for the previous calendar year by 15 May each year. Applies to: installed IT power of at least 500 kW | Submission receipt and data set Record, checked by document review | Compliance manager with Site manager | Every year 15 May each year Filing, one site |
| Publish the same information and send the web address of the page to the national agency. | Public page URL and agency acknowledgement Record, checked by document review | Compliance manager | Every year 15 May each year Disclosure, one site |
| State in the publication which items were certified or third-party audited and whether an energy management system is in place. | Publication note and audit or certificate references Certificate, checked by document review | Quality with Compliance manager | Every year 15 May each year Disclosure, one site |
| If the site operated for less than a year, report only the period of actual activity and say so. Applies to: site in service less than one year | Commissioning date and reporting period note Record, checked by document review | Site manager with Compliance manager | Once first filing Filing, one site |
| Set up data collection from equipment you do not run yourself; for colocation and co-hosting, the party responsible for the equipment must pass its data into your collection. Applies to: colocation or co-hosting site | Contract clause and collection procedure Contract, checked by document review | Procurement with Compliance manager | Every year before the annual filing Contractual, one site |
| Sites that do not recover enough waste heat must carry out a cost-benefit analysis of recovering heat from the servers. Applies to: insufficient heat recovery | Cost-benefit analysis report Record, checked by document review | M&E lead with Finance | Once per decree schedule Governance, one site |
Editions
Which text is in force, from when, and which one it replaced.
| Edition | Status | Published | In effect | Replaces |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Décret n° 2025-1382 of 29 Dec 2025 | Current Regulatory provisions' start date not confirmed on the AIDA text read; treat as 2026 per ministry page. | 29 Dec 2025 | Not stated | None named |
About the programme
- Assessed by
- A regulator or authority
- Scope
- data centre (one site)
- Levels
- 500 kW installed IT power
- Validity
- Yearly by 15 May.
- Regulator
- Ministry for the energy transition; ADEME; ARCEP data collection counts as the EU filing for operators already reporting to it
- Who asks for it
- Regulator, Public tenders
- Where it is used
- FR
Sources
Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.
No official body publishes a page for this scheme. The scheme owner's own page, linked under About the programme, is where the clauses are published.
Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.