Voluntary commitment

EU Code of Conduct for Energy Efficiency in Data Centres

A voluntary programme where operators commit to apply a catalogue of efficiency best practices for cooling, power distribution, IT and monitoring; an Assessment Framework gives auditors the tools to check whether practices are applied, and annual awards recognise large energy savings.

  • 3requirementsin our own words
  • 1edition 2025 Best Practice Guidelines
  • 0places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
  • 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below

Where it applies

It is voluntary in the 30 places assessed. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.

WhereOutcomeBasisConditionsAuthority and route
All 27 EU Member StatesAppliesVoluntary In forceFrom 1 MW (installed IT power) Voluntary; the EED asks Member States to encourage participation at 1 MW or more installed IT power.Not stated
Switzerland, United Kingdom, NorwayAppliesVoluntary In forceNone stated Voluntary; the EED asks Member States to encourage participation at 1 MW or more installed IT power.Not stated

What it asks for

3 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.

RequirementEvidence expectedOwnerWhen
Register the data centres taking part (operator level participant). Participant registration Record, checked by document reviewCompliance manager Once Governance, one site
Select and implement best practices for cooling, power distribution, IT and monitoring. Best practice implementation plan Record, checked by document reviewM&E lead Every year Governance, one site
Track efficiency indicators over time. Monitoring data Meter data, checked by document reviewM&E lead Every year Disclosure, one site

Editions

Which text is in force, from when, and which one it replaced.

EditionStatusPublishedIn effectReplaces
2025 Best Practice Guidelines Current Cited as footnote 33 of COM(2026) 500; the JRC says the document is revised annually.2025Not stated None named

About the programme

Assessed by
Self-declaration
Scope
data centre site or portfolio
Levels
Participants (operators) and Endorsers (vendors, consultants, associations)
Validity
Best Practices are revised annually. The JRC page blocks scripted access, so the archived copy of 24 Aug 2025 (web.archive.org) is the source; reconfirm on the live page.
Accreditation route
none: Commission-run registration; Assessment Framework supports third-party audits
Regulator
Commission encourages participation (Directive 2023/1791 Art. 12(4))
Who asks for it
Regulator, Public tenders, Enterprise and colocation customers
Where it is used
EU, open to others

Sources

Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.

Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.