Germany: Energieeffizienzgesetz (EnEfG), data centre provisions
German national law with PUE limits that tighten from 2027 and 2030, a heat-reuse share for new sites, 100 percent renewable electricity from 2027, an energy or environmental management system with certification for larger sites, a yearly public report by 31 March, and customer energy statements. A government bill of 16 Sept 2026 (21/8027) would rewrite section 11.
- 14requirementsin our own words
- 2editions Energieeffizienzgesetz (BGBl. 2023 I Nr. 309), as consolidated on gesetze-im-internet.de
- 1places where it is a duty of 30 assessed
- 18 Oct 2026last checkedat the sources below
Where it applies
It is a duty in 1 of 30 places. The outcome holds under the conditions shown and says nothing about any one site.
| Where | Outcome | Basis | Conditions | Authority and route |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Germany | Applies | Required by law In force | From see rows: 300 kW, 500 kW, 1 MW depending on duty (installed or non-redundant connected load depending on the section)Commissioned: targets differ for sites started before or after 1 July 2026 National law for data centres in this country. | federal government register; BAFA for management systems Filed with: federal data centre register by 31 March |
| Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Switzerland, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, United Kingdom, Greece, Croatia, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Latvia, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Slovenia, Slovakia | Does not apply | Required by law In force | None stated Law of DE; this country has its own rules (see EED rows). | Not stated |
What it asks for
14 requirements, each in our own words with the evidence an assessor would expect and who on a site usually owns it. Read the clause itself on the scheme owner's page.
| Requirement | Evidence expected | Owner | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Existing sites (operating before 1 July 2026): reach an annual-average PUE of 1.5 or lower from 1 July 2027 and keep it. Applies to: started operation before 1 July 2026 | PUE calculation sheet and meter data for the year Meter data, checked by test | M&E lead with Site manager | Every year from 1 July 2027 Technical limit, one site |
| Existing sites: reach an annual-average PUE of 1.3 or lower from 1 July 2030. Applies to: started operation before 1 July 2026 | PUE sheet, plus a retrofit plan if a gap remains Meter data, checked by test | M&E lead with Finance | Every year from 1 July 2030 Technical limit, one site |
| New sites (operating from 1 July 2026): design and run to a PUE of 1.2 or lower, reached on annual average within two years of commissioning. Applies to: started operation on or after 1 July 2026 | Design PUE calculation and operating PUE data Meter data, checked by test | M&E lead with Site manager | Every year within two years of commissioning Technical limit, one site |
| New sites: reuse at least 10 percent of energy (planned 15 percent from 1 July 2027 starts, 20 percent from 1 July 2028 starts), measured by the reuse-factor method of the EN 50600-4-6 series. Applies to: started operation on or after 1 July 2026 | Heat reuse factor calculation and export meter data Meter data, checked by test | M&E lead with Site manager | Every year within two years of commissioning Technical limit, one site |
| Keep proof for the heat-reuse exemptions: a signed agreement with a municipality or heat-network operator, or a heat-network operator who did not accept an offer within six months. Applies to: claiming an exemption from the reuse share | Signed agreement with investment plan, or the offer and the non-response record Contract, checked by document review | Compliance manager with M&E lead | On each change as events occur Contractual, one site |
| Cover electricity use on a balance basis with 50 percent renewable electricity from 2024 and 100 percent from 1 January 2027. | Electricity purchase contracts, guarantees of origin or equivalent proof, annual balance Contract, checked by document review | Finance with Procurement | Every year from 1 January 2027 for 100 percent Technical limit, the organisation |
| Set up an energy or environmental management system with continuous measurement of electrical power and energy of the main components, and measures that keep improving efficiency. | Management system documents, metering concept, improvement action log Policy, checked by document review | Quality with M&E lead | Continuous set up by 1 July 2025 Management system, one site |
| Get the management system validated or certified from 1 January 2026 if non-redundant connected load is 1 MW or more (300 kW or more for public bodies). Applies to: non-redundant connected load of 1 MW or more (300 kW for public-owned or public-operated sites) | Certificate or validation statement from an accredited body Certificate, checked by document review | Quality with Compliance manager | Each certification cycle from 1 January 2026, then per certificate cycle Management system, one site |
| IT operators in a data centre carry the same duties; certification applies from 1 January 2026 at 500 kW non-redundant IT connected load (300 kW when operated for public bodies). Applies to: operator of IT equipment, not of the building | Certificate covering the IT operator's scope Certificate, checked by document review | Quality with IT operations | Each certification cycle from 1 January 2026 Management system, the organisation |
| Check whether a site is exempt: heat export of at least 50 percent through a heat network with total final energy use not above 7.5 GWh a year, or planned decommissioning before 1 July 2027. Applies to: exemption claimed | Energy use history, heat network contract, decommissioning plan Record, checked by document review | Compliance manager with Site manager | Every year review yearly Management system, one site |
| Publish and send the Annex 3 data for the previous calendar year to the federal register by 31 March, using the federal electronic template. | Filing receipt and the published data Record, checked by document review | Compliance manager with Site manager | Every year 31 March each year Filing, one site |
| Report the Annex 3 metrics: total electricity, renewable share, waste heat released and delivered, data volume, PUE, reuse factor, cooling efficiency and water efficiency, each by the cited EN 50600 method. | KPI workbook with method references and meter evidence Meter data, checked by test | M&E lead with Compliance manager | Every year with the 31 March filing Disclosure, one site |
| Show each customer, once a year, the energy use directly attributable to them. Applies to: data centre operator serving third-party customers | Customer statement template and the allocation method Record, checked by document review | Finance with Compliance manager | Every year each year from 2024 Contractual, one site |
| Track Bill 21/8027 of 16 September 2026 (government bill; would replace section 11 and change other parts). Not law at the access date. | Watch-list entry with parliamentary stage and impact note Record, checked by document review | Compliance manager | Continuous review each month Governance, the organisation |
Editions
Which text is in force, from when, and which one it replaced.
| Edition | Status | Published | In effect | Replaces |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Energieeffizienzgesetz (BGBl. 2023 I Nr. 309), as consolidated on gesetze-im-internet.de | Current | Not stated | Not stated | None named |
| Bill 21/8027 amending EnEfG section 11 and others Gesetzentwurf der Bundesregierung | Proposal Not law at access date. | 16 Sep 2026 | Not stated | Energieeffizienzgesetz (BGBl. 2023 I Nr. 309), as consolidated on gesetze-im-internet.de |
About the programme
- Scheme owner
- Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Bundestag)
- Assessed by
- A regulator or authority
- Scope
- data centre (one site) and IT operators
- Levels
- size classes for reporting; 1 MW and 300 kW thresholds for management-system certification
- Validity
- Yearly report by 31 March; management system and certification dates in §12.
- Accreditation route
- Certification of the management system by accredited bodies (see ISO 50001 / EMAS)
- Regulator
- Federal government register for data centres (Energieeffizienzregister); BAFA for management systems
- Official body
- Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Bundestag)
- Who asks for it
- Regulator, Public tenders
- Where it is used
- DE
Sources
Official bodies behind this page, each with the date we last read it.
- Deutscher Bundestagread 18 Oct 2026
- Gesetze im Internet (German federal law)read 18 Oct 2026
Not legal advice. Confirm each duty against the text itself.